The Monkey and the Crocodile – a Folk Tale.


The story of the monkey and the crocodile is an Indian folk tale which takes place on the banks of the Ganges. However, some say that it is in fact an African story thought to be from Kenya and there are other tribal versions from Tanzania and Ghana. The version here is an adaptation Paul Henry Zarraga wrote for Inkas, a Turkish publisher, for pupils learning Engish at around A1 level. He wrote it as a play for four actors: the narrator, Jit the monkey and Mr and Mrs Crocodile, but it would be very easy to add more supporting animals to the cast.

The Monkey and the Crocodile

Narrator: In the Himalayan mountains, next to the river Ganges, Jit the monkey sits in a tree. He eats a mango. He likes mangoes. Mangoes are very sweet and juicy.

Mr and Mrs Crocodile swim in the river near the trees.They see Jit the monkey. They watch him swing from tree to tree.

Mrs Crocodile: Look at that monkey! All day he sits in that tree and eats juicy mangoes. His heart is full of sweet mango juice. I’m bored of fruit. I’m bored of mangoes. I want to eat the monkey’s heart. Bring him to me and we can eat sweet monkey meat.

Narrator: Mr Crocodile likes Jit. Jit is happy and friendly. Mr Crocodile doesn’t want to take Jit to Mrs Crocodile. Jit waves to Mr Crocodile from the tree and Mr Crocodile waves from the river. Jit throws mangoes to Mr Crocodile to take home. Mr Crocodile thanks his monkey friend.

Mr Crocodile: Thank you, Jit. Thank you for the fruit.
Jit: Here are some mangoes. Take them to your wife.
Mr Crocodile: Thanks again, Jit. You are a good friend.
Jit: You are welcome, Mr Crocodile.

Narrator: Mr Crocodile goes home to Mrs Crocodile. Mrs Crocodile is angry. She is very angry.

Mrs Crocodile: I’m hungry, Mr Crocodile. I’m very hungry.
Mr Crocodile: Yes, my wife.
Mrs Crocodile: I’m very, very hungry.
Mr Crocodile: Yes, my sweetheart.
Mrs Crocodile: I’m very hungry and I don’t want to eat any more mangoes.
Mr Crocodile: Yes, my dear.
Mrs Crocodile: I want to eat the monkey’s heart. Do you understand?
Mr Crocodile: Yes, my dear.
Mrs Crocodile: Bring me the monkey here tonight.
Mr Crocodile: Yes, my love, but….
Mrs Crocodile: Be quiet! Listen! I want to eat monkey heart tonight. Do you understand?
Mr Crocodile: Yes, my darling.
Mrs Crocodile: Good! Don’t make me angry and don’t be late!

Narrator: Mrs Crocodile sings.

Monkey heart, monkey heart is juicy and sweet,
Monkey heart, monkey heart is good to eat,
Monkey heart, monkey heart is juicy and sweet,
Monkey heart, monkey heart is good to eat.

Narrator: Mrs Crocodile is bored of fruit and wants to eat the monkey’s heart. Mr Crocodile doesn’t want to help his wife, but he is afraid of her. Mrs Crocodile has a very bad temper. A very, very bad temper.

Next morning, Mister Crocodile swims to Jit’s tree. Jit sees him and shouts.

Jit: Good morning, Mr Crocodile. What a beautiful day. Would you like me to throw you down some fruit? You can take it to your wife and have it for dinner.
Mr Crocodile: Thank you, Jit. You are very kind. My wife loves your presents of fruit, but she would like you to come for dinner.
Jit: She wants me to come for dinner! Your wife is very kind.

Narrator: The little monkey is very happy. He wants to go for dinner, but he can’t swim.

Jit: But, Mr Crocodile, I can’t swim. How do I cross the river?
Mr Crocodile: Don’t worry, Jit. You can sit on my back.
Jit: Thank you, Mr Crocodile. You are very kind.
Mr Crocodile: It’s my pleasure.

Narrator: Jit sits on Mr Crocodile’s back. Next to him there is a bag of mangoes. A present for Mrs Crocodile. Jit is very happy. Mister Crocodile swims slowly into the middle of the river and Jit enjoys the crossing.

Then the bag of fruit falls into the river.

Jit: Stop! Oh no! The fruit is in the river! The fruit is in the river!
Mr Crocodile: Don’t worry, Jit! My wife is bored of fruit. She doesn’t want to eat mangoes she wants to eat you. She wants to eat your sweet and juicy heart.
Jit: My heart?
Mr Crocodile: Yes, my little monkey friend. You are dinner.
Jit: Yes. My heart is very juicy and sweet. But my heart is in my tree, in a bag. Let’s go back and get it. I don’t want your wife to be sad, Mr Crocodile.
Mr Crocodile: You are a very good monkey.

Narrator: Mr Crocodile goes back to Jit’s tree house. Jit jumps off his back and quickly runs up the tree. He laughs and shouts at the crocodile.

Jit: Mister Crocodile, how very unkind of you. Everyday I give you fruit and you want to feed me to your wife. My heart is here, in my chest. You bad crocodile.

Narrator: Mister Crocodile is sad. Jit dances in the tree. Mr Crocodile watches Jit. He thinks of his angry wife. Mr Crocodile cries a crocodile tear.

About The Henry Brothers

We are English teachers involved in ELT publishing in Turkey, and also touring the country giving workshops and presentations to English teachers, mainly on the use of poetry, storytelling and other lively activities in the classroom. We can be contacted by e-mail to canmoorcroft@gmail.com or paul.zarraga@gmail.com
This entry was posted in ELT, Folktales and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Monkey and the Crocodile – a Folk Tale.

  1. Mr. G. says:

    Mr and Mrs Crocodile reminds me much of the Macbeths.

  2. nehal says:

    it warmed my hearth 🙂

  3. Winnie says:

    Great story, I first heard it when I was a little girl and am gonna tell it to my daughter

We'd love to hear your views on this post. Please leave a comment.