Until I Saw The Sea – Lilian Moore

Hailing from the land-locked Midlands of England, and now living on our respective coasts in Turkey, we’re continually amazed by the overpowering beauty and contrary moods of the sea. Sometimes calm and thoughtful, sometimes lovingly caressing the shore, and at other times upset, agitated, contrary, full of rage and confusion. We found this wonderful poem by Lilian Moore which evokes the sea during her more peaceful moods.

Until I Saw The Sea
Until I saw the sea
I did not know
that wind
could wrinkle water so.

I never knew
that sun
could splinter a whole sea of blue.

Nor
did I know before
a sea breathes in and out
upon a shore.

Lilian Moore

About The Henry Brothers

We are English teachers involved in ELT publishing in Turkey, and also touring the country giving workshops and presentations to English teachers, mainly on the use of poetry, storytelling and other lively activities in the classroom. We can be contacted by e-mail to canmoorcroft@gmail.com or paul.zarraga@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Until I Saw The Sea – Lilian Moore

  1. Mr. G. says:

    wonderful… as being a mediterrannean man, I think I love everything about the sea, every single imagery about water, every line telling about the various moods of the sea. I’ve come across various metaphors about the waves hitting the shore, and this is another great one; “a sea breathing in and out upon a shore…”

  2. Thanks for the comment Mr G- I also love the the image of the wind wrinkling the water – ‘I did not know that wind could wrinkle water so.’ – wonderful alliteration.

  3. Pingback: Odyssey “4 Pictures, 1 Word” ideas? | Salvation Food

We'd love to hear your views on this post. Please leave a comment.