My Teacher Identity – a poetic response to the Henry Brothers by Richard Gresswell of ELT Bites

ELTbites keeps changing

as do my interests

in English language teaching

A continual reshaping

that not only expresses

but constitutes

my repositioning

in the ELT world around me

A world that like myself

never stands still.

This is how I’ve come to understand

my teacher identity

not one that is static

but always seemingly

in a process of ‘becoming’

Teaching

is a life-long apprenticeship

no beginning nor end game,

there will be no final feeling

of ‘mastery’ over my profession,

the day I can say ‘I am a teacher’

will not come

I can only ever say

I’m learning to be a teacher.

Thanks to Paul and John aka the Henry Brothers for the request to turn my teacher identity post into poetry.

About The Henry Brothers

We are English teachers involved in ELT publishing in Turkey, and also touring the country giving workshops and presentations to English teachers, mainly on the use of poetry, storytelling and other lively activities in the classroom. We can be contacted by e-mail to istanbuljohnm@hotmail.co.uk.
This entry was posted in ELT, The Henry Brothers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Teacher Identity – a poetic response to the Henry Brothers by Richard Gresswell of ELT Bites

  1. Mr. G. says:

    A very inspiring and intelligent poem brothers, a compass to the teachers.

  2. A life long learning process it is.

We'd love to hear your views on this post. Please leave a comment.

