My Boom Boom Boomerang

This is a great performance poem, particulalry the chorus. On ‘boom boom boom boom’ you move your hips from side to side followed by outlining the shape of the boomerang with your two index fingers.Then you can look through binoculars to watch the boomerang fly out of sight. And then it’s back to more hip swiveling Shakira style for the final line of the chorus.

The rest of the poem also lends itself to some nice mimes. Outlining the trees, walking along the track, typing on a keyboard to order another off the internet. It’s also got a rappy rhythm that can be beat out on a tambourine or drum. The Çevre College conference in February is all about chants, performance and rhythm so we might just get the audience to ‘boom boom boom boom boomerang’. Who knows?

My Boom Boom Boomerang
I got a boomerang
So we went outback
To the woods near our house
Along the track

We threw that thing
But without any style
İt didn’t return
It flew for a mile

Chorus
I’ve got a boom boom boom boom boomerang
Throw it to the left, throw it to the right
Watch that thing fly out of sight
I’ve got a boom boom boom boom boomerang

Way up high
On a branch it stuck
Me and my bruv
Fresh out of luck

The sun went down
We needed to rest
We trudged on home
Sad and depressed

Chorus

But our boom boom career
İt aint over yet
We’ve ordered another
Off the internet.

Once again
We’ll go outback
To the wood near our house
Along the track

To throw that thing
We’ll have to learn
Aboriginal style
To make it return.

Chorus

PHZ

About The Henry Brothers

We are English teachers involved in ELT publishing in Turkey, and also touring the country giving workshops and presentations to English teachers, mainly on the use of poetry, storytelling and other lively activities in the classroom. We can be contacted by e-mail to istanbuljohnm@hotmail.co.uk.
This entry was posted in ELT conferences, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Boom Boom Boomerang

  1. Mr. G. says:

    you should add videos of your performances so we can watch, or maybe you have the videos but I don’t have the links, is it so? let me know if you have a youtube or vimeo channel. if you don’t please have one, as soon soon soon soon as possible!

  2. Angel Lopez says:

    I saw you perform this at a Cambridge-Actuel symposium in Antalya this year. I used it this week in my 2 and 3 grades because my focus this week is making my students aware of “word stress”. It was perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 I’ll be using your other stuff too!!! Thank you!

    • Thanks Angel – glad to hear Boomerang worked well – we really enjoyed performing it at the symposium. Only this morning I was in that wood along the track, I threw my boomerang but it didn’t come back…..I’ve got a boom, boom, boom boomerang….:) – Paul Henry

  3. Reblogged this on The Henry Brothers' Jim Jam Slam and commented:

    Did this poem at Nılufer Koleji, Bursa at the weekend – went down a storm.

  4. rabia pir says:

    Hey guys! you were FANTASTIC! We drove all the way to Bursa to attent your workshop and we didn’t get dissappointed! I would like to share one of my concern that even if I took all my notes, I do not remember the rhythm of the songs. Could you add a video to make us remember? Thank you so much!

  5. Hey Rabia – thanks for coming and glad you enjoyed it…we’ll try and post a video of some of the Bursa show. Take care.. ps sorry about the delay in replying but haven’t been blogging for a while. Back on it now.

We'd love to hear your views on this post. Please leave a comment.

