Home Time

So I looked around
And quickly found
That if I lowered myself with care
I could reach the floor
And be out the door
Before anyone was aware.

The teacher said
Through the back of his head
Everybody open your books
But I wasn’t there
I’d left my chair
To a barrage of funny looks.

I crept out the door
On the shiny floor
And tip-toed past the head
I went out the gate
I couldn’t wait
To be back in the warmth of my bed.

PHZ

About The Henry Brothers

We are English teachers involved in ELT publishing in Turkey, and also touring the country giving workshops and presentations to English teachers, mainly on the use of poetry, storytelling and other lively activities in the classroom. We can be contacted by e-mail to istanbuljohnm@hotmail.co.uk.
This entry was posted in Poetry, The Henry Brothers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Home Time

  1. Mr. G. says:

    reminded me of my happy kindergarten days when I broke out the class and ran away home. those were the days…

  2. Mr. G. says:

    skiving off is a new phrase for me. thanks brothers…

We'd love to hear your views on this post. Please leave a comment.

