The Perfect Wife; a tale by Nasreddin Hoca

The Perfect Wife – a tale simply to read and enjoy.

Nasreddin Hoca was sitting in a tea shop when a friend excitedly came in. ‘I’m so happy, Hoca,’ his friend gushed, ‘I’m about to get married. Hoca, have you ever thought of getting married?’

Nasreddin Hoca answered, ‘I did think of getting married. When I was young, I very much wanted to. I set out in search of the perfect wife. I travelled far and wide to find her. I went first to Damascus. There I met a beautiful woman who was gracious, kind, and deeply spiritual, but she had no worldly knowledge, so I decided she was not the perfect wife. I travelled further and went to Isphahan. There I met a woman who was both spiritual and wise in the ways of the world….she was beautiful in many ways. But we did not communicate well. Finally, after much searching, in Cairo I found her. She was spiritually deep, graceful, and beautiful in every way, at home in the world and at home in the realms beyond it. I knew I had found the perfect wife.’

His friend stared at him, ‘Then why did you not marry her, Hoca?’

‘Alas,’ said Nasreddin Hoca, shaking his head, ‘She, unfortunately, was searching for the perfect husband.’

About The Henry Brothers

We are English teachers involved in ELT publishing in Turkey, and also touring the country giving workshops and presentations to English teachers, mainly on the use of poetry, storytelling and other lively activities in the classroom. We can be contacted by e-mail to istanbuljohnm@hotmail.co.uk.
This entry was posted in Folktales, Storytelling, The Henry Brothers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Perfect Wife; a tale by Nasreddin Hoca

  1. perizat says:

    ı am an english teacher too,, ı ver much believe in the use of stories ..this is one ı will use in the lesson..thank you for sharing.. ı also shared it on the net for my students to read.. I believe learning a language requires sociability.

  2. Glad you enjoyed it Perizat – certainly one of our favourite Nasreddin Hoca stories – and glad you shared it. Take care…….

We'd love to hear your views on this post. Please leave a comment.

